Heads of state or government and foreign ministers

Rinchinnyam Amarjargal

Former MP; 1998-1999 Mongolian Minister of Foreign Affairs, 1999-2000 Prime Minister of Mongolia, Mongolia


Lloyd Axworthy

President, University of Winnipeg; 1996-2000 Foreign Minister of Canada, Canada


Mohamed Bazoum

MP; Minister of the Interior; 1995-1996 and 2011-2015 Foreign Minister of Niger, Niger


Alejandro Bendaña

Director, Centro de Estudios Internacionales, Managua; former Secretary-General for Foreign Affairs and former Ambassador to the United Nations of Nicaragua, Nicaragua


Sigmar Gabriel

Former MP; Foreign Minister of Germany (2017-2018) and Vice-Chancellor (2013-2017); Former Chairman, Social Democratic Party, Germany


Prof. Ibrahim Gambari

Former foreign minister of Nigeria and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations, Co-Chair of the Commission on Global Security, Justice, and Governance, Nigeria


Prof. Bronisław Geremek

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs (1997-2000); MEP from 2004; deceased in July 2008, Poland


Eamon Gilmore

Former MP; Former Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Ireland


Václav Havel

Playwright, essayist, dissident and politician. Tenth and last President of Czechoslovakia (1989–92) and first President of the Czech Republic (1993–2003), passed away on 18 December 2011, Czech Republic


Michael D. Higgins

President of Ireland since 2011; former MP (1981-1982, 1987-2011), Ireland


Augustine Iyamuremye

Senator (-2013); Member, Pan-African Parliament; 1999-2000 Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Cooperation, Rwanda


Toshiki Kaifu

President of the World Federalist Movement-Japan and 76th and 77th Prime Minister of Japan; former MP, Liberal Democratic Party, Japan


Ilkka Kanerva

MP since 1975. 10 years cabinet minister, including foreign minister of Finland 2007-2008. Vicepresident of the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE, Finland


Yves Leterme

Former Prime Minister of Belgium; Secretary-General of International IDEA, Belgium


Flora MacDonald

former MP; 1979-80 Secretary of State for External Affairs; 1984-86 Minister of Employment and Immigration; 1986-88 Minister of Communications, Canada


Louis Michel

former MEP (ALDE, until 2019); Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign Minister and Minister for Institutional Reform (1999-2004); Member of the European Commission (2004-2009), Belgium


Dr. Federica Mogherini

Former MP; 2014 Minister of Foreign Affairs; since 2014 High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Italy


Mike Moore

1999-2002 Director General, World Trade Organization; 1990 Prime Minister of New Zealand, New Zealand


Amre Moussa

Former Foreign Minister of Egypt and former Secretary-General of the Arab League, Egypt


Theodoros Pangalos

MP (-2012); Since 2009 Deputy Prime Minister; 1996-1999 Minister of Foreign Affairs, 2000 Minister for Culture, Greece


Michel Rocard

1988-1991 French Prime Minister; 1994-2009 MEP; deceased in 2016, France


Dr. Alfred Sant

MP (-2013); former Prime Minister (1996-1998), former leader of the Labour Party (1992-2008), Malta


Danilo Türk

Former President of Slovenia (2007-2012); former Assistant Secretary-General of the UN for Political Affairs, Slovenia


John N. Turner

Former Prime Minister of Canada (1984), Canada


Dr. George Vella

President of the Republic of Malta (since 2019); former Minister of Foreign Affairs (1996-1998 and 2013-2017), Malta