The creation of a UN Parliamentary Assembly is supported by a broad range of individuals and institutions from more than 150 countries.

Individual supporters include politicians, former UN officials, distinguished scholars, cultural innovators, representatives of civil society organizations, and many committed citizens from all walks of life.

In particular, 647 current and 1090 former members of parliament across principal party lines have endorsed the campaign to date. The sitting MPs represent an estimated 119 million people. Supporters also include current and former heads of state, foreign ministers, Nobel laureates, and over 400 professors, including from world-leading universities.

Institutions that have expressed support include numerous civil society organizations, parliaments, international parliamentary assemblies and party networks. For instance, the Pan-African Parliament, the European Parliament, the Latin-American Parliament and the Parliament of Mercosur have adopted resolutions – as have the Socialist International, the Liberal International, or the Green World Congress.

An international survey conducted in 2004/5 in 18 countries showed an average support of 63% while only 20% opposed.


Without a global parliament, a democratic deficit exists in the way that the world's citizens are involved in global matters. Through elected representatives, a United Nations Parliamentary Assembly would resonate with the global population, providing it with a voice for presenting sensitive issues, to include addressing human rights violations, tackling corruption in governments and international administrations, and promoting democratic rights at all levels.


Patricia Schroeder, Former Member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1973-1997), 2014


Members of Parliament

from 134 countries endorse the campaign (current and former)

Latest supporters

Peter Wiehe, Germany — Brent Hunter, United States — Hon Fatou Cham, Gambia — Hon Essa Conteh, Gambia — Hon. Yaya Gassama, Gambia — Honourable. Omar Jammeh, Gambia — Hon. Abdoulie Ceesay, Gambia — Samba Hon Jallow, Gambia — Alieu Baldeh, Gambia — Dawda Jeng, Gambia

Show list of supporters

Support by elected representatives